Predictions. Oscars 2015.

oscar_statue For the first time in my life, I have watched enough movies released in 2014 to actually be able to fairly award and predict the Oscars. There is a great line-up this year, and if you’ve watched the movies that I did, then you know I’m not exaggerating. In this post, I am predicting the winners, and also acting like a single-man jury in which role I shall appreciate and award the candidates that I think deserve to go back home richer by a Golden Man. I might be wrong in my predictions, but this sure is fun. This year seems big for Birdman which leads with 9 nominations. The Grand Budapest Hotel might just turn out to be this year’s The Curious Case Of Benjamin Button. We will see what happens very soon, The Oscars are just a few hours away.

The predictions were not remotely as hard as awarding them. There were, and are, a few tussles that still make me uncertain, because of the presence of too many deserving candidates. So, I, the unfunny NPH, will now start the awards function.

Best Visual Effects: This is one of the three categories which has an outright winner. Interstellar has not been nominated for the big five, maybe because it was not upto the expectations that Nolan has set in people’s minds. But not awarding Interstellar in this category would be a gross injustice. The IMAX experience was something I can never forget, and now when I looked at what I wrote about the movie in my review, I realize that the words I used did not give the reader an idea of the awe I was in, in the theatre. That’s it, Interstellar is the winner.

Should Win: Interstellar.
Will Win: Interstellar.

Best Sound Mixing: I’m torn between Interstellar and Whiplash here. Interstellar has been perfect in the technical department, but the precision and the quality of the sound work in Whiplash is joyous. But somehow, I have a feeling that Nolan’s work will take this award home this year, while Whiplash will be devoid of an award that they deserve.

Should Win: Whiplash.
Will Win: Interstellar.

Best Sound Editing: Again, Interstellar is my pick. There is a level of expertness in the technical aspects of this movie that has seldom been seen in any other movie of 2014. However, looking at how things are going, American Sniper’s chances of winning one of the big five are not that bright, and it won’t be a surprise if the Jury decides to give one award to Eastwood’s work as a consolation prize.

Should Win: Interstellar.
Will Win: American Sniper.

Best Cinematography: This is a clear arm-wrestling contest between Emmanuel Lubezki for Birdman and Robert D. Yeoman for The Grand Budapest Hotel. While the former did a job that I’ve never seen before, the latter had colourful photography, and the additional advantage of Lubezki winning last year for Gravity. Which is why I guess The Grand Budapest Hotel will be the recipient for this category, but my winner is Lubezki, for his outstanding work of making the whole movie look like a single continuous shot.

Should Win: Birdman.
Will Win: The Grand Budapest Hotel.

Best Original Score: Here, the race seems to be between Johann Johannsson and Alexandre Desplat. While the former’s work in The Theory Of Everything is commendable, the latter possesses an unmistakable advantage in the form of two nominations, and I think he will go on to win the award for The Grand Budapest Hotel. But it is Hans Zimmer’s work in Interstellar which impressed me more than any other, and that is why he is my choice.

Should Win: Interstellar.
Will Win: The Grand Budapest Hotel.

Best Original Song: This is ridiculous. Glory from Selma is an excellent song. And so is Everything Is Awesome from The LEGO Movie. But I think the latter will be overlooked, because Glory, the satirical and incredible infectious song, plays right to the feeling of an American which is why I think it will win. Both the songs are truly awesome, and I’d split the award if I could.

Should Win: The LEGO Movie.
Will Win: Selma.

Best Film Editing: This one has a clear winner in the popular and the critical opinion, but I have another winner. Boyhood has been sweeping this category, and it seems like the Oscars will be no different. But I find Whiplash as my winner. It is slickly edited, and the result is lovely. I’m not saying that Boyhood was badly edited, but it sure does come second to Whiplash.

Should Win: Whiplash.
Will Win: Boyhood.

Best Original Screenplay: I don’t think there will be any difficulty here. Foxcatcher and Nightcrawler have not been mentioned anywhere, so I can safely drop them out of contention. Boyhood is an excellent movie, but the writing is definitely not its strongest point. So, we now have Alejandro González Iñárritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris, Armando Bo for Birdman and Wes Anderson and Hugo Guinness for The Grand Budapest Hotel. And that’s what the competition has amounted to, in the last few months. Personally, I believe Birdman deserves this award more than any other contender, but considering the fact that Wes Anderson has been nominated twice unsuccessfully already, he looks like he will be this year’s winner.

Should Win: Birdman.
Will Win: The Grand Budapest Hotel.

Best Adapted Screenplay: Popular critic and public opinion has three contenders: Anthony McCarten for The Theory Of Everything, Graham Moore for The Imitation Game and Jason Dean Hall for American Sniper. The winner until now has been The Theory Of Everything, but it is The Imitation Game that I think will be the Jury’s pick. As for me, I have no doubt about my winner: Whiplash. It had a tight screenplay, and I did not get bored for even a second.

Should Win: Whiplash.
Will Win: The Imitation Game.

Best Director: This is one category which has kept me in a state of dilemma. With the direction the debate over the best director award has taken, I can clearly see two forerunners this year: Richard Linklater for Boyhood, and Alejandro González Iñárritu for Birdman. And honestly, they are the two contenders who deserve the award more than anyone this year. Iñárritu was smooth and ambitious and did a wonderful job with Birdman. Linlkater, however, was more patient, calm and relaxed. I give the award to Iñárritu, because his approach has prevailed over Linklater’s. Personally, I think no one could’ve pulled off what the latter managed to, and considering that his Oscar is due for a long time now, he will probably be the Jury’s pick this year.

Should Win: Alejandro González Iñárritu.
Will Win: Richard Linklater.

Best Actress In A Supporting Role: There is no doubt over who’s going to win this. Patricia Arquette simply deserves it. She has done an amazing job, and in every single frame in Boyhood she has nailed it. Keira Knightley was good and Emma Stone was better. But both of them do not come close to the most probable winner, and my favourite, Patricia Arquette.

Should Win: Patricia Arquette.
Will Win: Patricia Arquette.

Best Actor In A Supporting Role: Okay. We all know who’s going to win this. There is no debate, no discussion, here. I’m sorry for all the other nominees, a little more sorry for Edward Norton, who stands second. A standing ovation for J.K. Simmons as he receives the award for playing the abusive, perfectionist teacher.

Should Win: J.K. Simmons.
Will Win: J.K. Simmons.

Best Actress In A Lead Role: I admit to not watching Still Alice, the movie with sweeping the best actress award in almost all of the award functions. So, I’m just going to say that Julianne Moore is going to win this year. But apart from that, I loved Rosamund Pike’s portrayal of Amy Eliott-Dunne, the revengeful (and psychotic) wife. She was amazingly convincing in her role, and that wins me over.

Should Win: Rosamund Pike.
Will Win. Julianne Moore.

Best Actor In A Lead Role: Another category which had me uncertain. Benedict Cumberbatch was brilliant, but for no apparent reason whatsoever, he has been ignored in all of the previous award ceremonies. I believe it is clear who’ll be the winner this time. Eddie Redmayne’s performance as Stephen Hawking has been exceedingly well received, and he’ll take home the Golden Man. For me, it is a tussle between Michael Keaton and Benedict Cumberbatch. Playing as a washed-up actor struggling between his ego and reviving his career, Michael Keaton made more of an impression than Benedict Cumberbatch playing Alan Turing, the homosexual mathematician. Keaton has with him a charm, and a sense of liveliness that puts him ahead of all the others, which might upset Eddie Redmayne’s chances.

Should Win: Michael Keaton.
Will Win: Eddie Redmayne.

Best Picture: The media has elected Birdman, Boyhood and American Sniper as the forerunners for the Best Picture category. There has been an increasingly close competition between Birdman and Boyhood, which explains the increasingly close competition between Alejandro González Iñárritu and Richard Linklater in the Best Director category. Both the categories don’t often have the same movie as the winners, which is why I’m guessing Birdman will take this home. However, for me, the contention is between Birdman and Whiplash. I absolutely loved Whiplash, and the only other movie that had me gripped throughout was Birdman. Both of them have simple stories, almost the same running time and the same excellence. But it is Whiplash which had me in shock and awe for a long time, and that makes it my choice this year.

Should Win: Whiplash.
Will Win: Birdman.

3 thoughts on “Predictions. Oscars 2015.

  1. Winning an oscar the previous year isn’t advantageous. The jury tends to pick nominees with no academies.
    It’s Whiplash and not Boyhood that’s sweeping the edit awards. Birdman deserves IMO, so seamless.
    Also, Best adapted screenplay might go to American Sniper. Not because it’s the best(i wouldn’t know), but because the academy is American, and the screenplay is as ” ‘MURICA FTW ” as it can get(if all the news articles I’ve read aren’t wrong).
    BTW you sound a lot like KRK. ” it won’t be a surprise if the Jury decides to give one award to Eastwood’s work as a consolation prize.” xD

    Like

    • Yeah, maybe. That statement about a consolation prize was based on the fact that Eastwood is a guy in the industry longer than anyone else. And if I were an American, Selma would’ve been my forerunner for almost all the categories.

      Like

Leave a Reply

