The Procrastinator’s Guide To Writi..

Writing is a difficult task. Especially if you’ve resolved to write once a week. I have been writing at a decent pace, when I consider all the work being dumped.

Up until the week of the Interstellar review, I made sure that I did something, or observed something that I could write about. It is actually easy and nice to write about something that you were a part of. But last week, I learned how horrible it is if I run out of things to discuss.

Last week, I was at a complete loss of topics to write about. Then, I realised that I hadn’t written anything about college. So, out of the blue, I had something. And then, I started planning and listing a few topics mentally for this week.

So, if you are a fan of this blog, or me (both are terribly unlikely, I know), you’re (or were) probably excited about what’s in store this week. You want to know what it is?

Nothing. That’s the uncomfortable answer.

Like last week, I’ve drawn a blank. And I am late this week by, what, 3 days. No, wait. Don’t close this. There’s something that might be helpful.

I am a beginner in blogging, and have faced enough troubles to tell others how to blog, and how to get over writer’s block.

So, ladies and gentlemen, I present to you the most helpful guide to blogging: The Procrastinator’s Guide To Writing.

1) Use that thing called the brain: Beginners often tend to imagine writing excellent pieces, but they do not think about what the excellent piece will be about. If you’re a beginner and doing this, stop immediately. This will lead you to write pieces that will depress you more each time you look at it or hear someone talking about it. Put a little of that imagination into your writing, and I’m sure you’ll do well.

2) Listen to music: If you are having trouble selecting a topic, listen to music you’re comfortable with. This usually works. Because music can set your mood quite well, and once this is done, you should have no real difficulty writing.

3) Read: Yes, read. This has been incredibly helpful to me. And I’m not talking about something on the internet. Hold a book in your hand, settle down, and read something. With full attention. I don’t know how this helps in writing, but it does.

4) Do something totally unrelated to writing: Distractions are effective. I distract myself sometimes. A few weeks ago, I was unable to write about anything. After a lot of unsuccessful attempts, I decided to do something different from the topic I wanted to write about. And then, I sat down, did a lot of college work that was due next day, watched Dead Poets’ Society. And then I came back, and finished the post in 30 minutes, which for me is great speed.

There are a lot of things you could do, but I won’t tell any of those because, well, read the guide’s name. All the techniques mentioned above have been tested and approved by me, which should be enough for you to try them once.

But there’s a chance you might not get anything from the methods mentioned. You might not be successful at writing anything by the end of testing the methods. In that case, just remember this: You can always write a post telling people all the different methods that can be employed if in the case of a writers’ block, just have the word ‘guide’ in the title.

One thought on “The Procrastinator’s Guide To Writi..

Leave a Reply

